|
Author
|
Topic: You got SPAM from Easy CD-DA Extractor??? - (Read 28 times)
|
AlamedaTim
Junior Member From:Alameda, CA USA Registered: Feb 2003 Posts: 1
|
Also got a spam. Just in case anyone wasn't sure, the email that the spam came to was one I generated ONLY for my Audiograbber purchase, so it came from the Audiograbber list.Very annoying. Hope that the culprits are tracked down and someone does something very unpleasant to them. Tim
|
tappel
Member From:New York, USA Registered: Sep 2001 Posts: 88
|
Yep, I got the email too. My first thought was, "cool, 1.82 is out." And then I read it.I SpamCopped it.
|
AgentR2
Member From: Registered: Feb 2001 Posts: 45
|
It is DEFINITELY from Element5:"Return-path: <newsletter-bounce-2025986-b9e54b629da3ec3e@nls.element5.com> Received: from [217.65.143.242] (helo=nls.element5.com) by mxng11.kundenserver.de with smtp (Exim 3.35 #1) id 18hkBH-0000zy-00 for agentr2@xxxxxxxx.de; Sun, 09 Feb 2003 06:39:07 +0100 Received: from sunshine.element5.com (217.65.128.203) by nls.element5.com with SMTP; 9 Feb 2003 05:39:06 -0000 Received: (from weissel@localhost) by sunshine.element5.com (8.11.3/8.11.3) id h195d6U25500; Sun, 9 Feb 2003 06:39:06 +0100 (MET) " <-- Sent Through the Element 5 Newsletter to an e-mail adress i haven'T used for YEARS (i am using a different one on the Forums) So i think, we should go and kick the ass off some guy called "weissel" at Element 5
|
Win
Member From:US Registered: Jan 2002 Posts: 37
|
Here's the header from mine. It was sent from the same place, and almost the same time. It appears that they sent them at once from a long list. Not only does their software suck, but they do too.  Jackie, Do they know that 1.82 is being released tomorrow? Is there any chance that they confused the mailing. If not, I'd sue them. We Americans sue everybody.  From: <grab@el5.net> To: <xxxxxx@xxxxxxxx.net> Return-Path: <newsletter-bounce-2036211-07c133110bf1cac1@nls.element5.com> Delivered-To: xxxxxx@0 Received: (qmail 13199 invoked by uid 64014); 9 Feb 2003 06:27:56 -0000 Received: from newsletter-bounce-2036211-07c133110bf1cac1@nls.element5.com by mail by uid 64011 with qmail-scanner-1.14 (sophie: 2.10/3.64. spamassassin: 2.43. Clear:SA:0(3.2/5.0):. Processed in 0.289356 secs); 09 Feb 2003 06:27:56 -0000 X-Spam-Status: No, hits=3.2 required=5.0 Received: from unknown (HELO nls.element5.com) (217.65.143.242) by 0 with SMTP; 9 Feb 2003 06:27:55 -0000 Received: (qmail 64699 invoked by uid 0); 9 Feb 2003 06:27:54 -0000 Received: from sunshine.element5.com (217.65.128.203) by nls.element5.com with SMTP; 9 Feb 2003 06:27:54 -0000 Received: (from weissel@localhost) by sunshine.element5.com (8.11.3/8.11.3) id h196Rs129557; Sun, 9 Feb 2003 07:27:54 +0100 (MET) Date: Sun, 9 Feb 2003 07:27:54 +0100 (MET) Message-Id: <200302090627.h196Rs129557@sunshine.element5.com> Content-Disposition: inline X-Mailer: MIME-tools 5.411 (Entity 5.404) Sender: newsletter-bounce-2036211-07c133110bf1cac1@nls.element5.com X-Account: xxxxxx@xxxxxxxxx.net Delivery-Date: Sun, 9 Feb 2003 01:35:30 Subject: Audiograbber Newsletter! Mime-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii" Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable Status: RF
[This message has been edited by Win on 10 February 2003 @ 14:32]
|
Corrado
Junior Member From: Registered: Oct 2000 Posts: 5
|
Yes, all of the e-mail headers show consistent info about domain and host addresses; they all point to element5.com, and do match their own DNS entries.Either someone took a lot of care in forging this spam, or it's genuinely coming from Element5. Corrado
|
Cheinzle
Member From:Götzis, Austria Registered: Jun 2002 Posts: 78
|
Just want to inform you that the german forum is full of these claims and that I have to type excuses 'til my fingers bleed.  I wrote a very angry mail to element5. We'll see what they're saying about this!Grrr... Christof [This message has been edited by Cheinzle on 10 February 2003 @ 16:31]
|
Brian Buchanan
Junior Member From:Noville, On, Canada Registered: Jan 2003 Posts: 3
|
Just wanted to mention that I got one too.
|
moonroy
Administrator From:Sweden Registered: Jan 99 Posts: 2158
|
It is confirmed that the mail was sent to AG's customers via Element5's servers. Apparantly someone hacked into their server and got access to their mailingsystem. They are looking into it and will return with a formal explaination of the event.------------------ moonroy www.mp3.com/enuresis
|
element5
Junior Member From: Registered: Feb 2003 Posts: 1
|
From: element 5Hi, we would like to clarify what has happened here: - Jackie Franck / Audiograbber has in no way been involved in sending this newsletter, or authorized it in any way. - We as element 5 have _not_ endorsed or sent this newsletter either. We strongly condemn spam and have no interest in it whatsoever. Software publishers can send mails to their registered customers through our newsletter tool. All software publishers using our newsletter tools are made aware of the fact that they must only mail to their customers who have agreed to receive information, and can be fined for abuse. - The fact that you still received the above mailing seems to have been due to a combination of abuse of our systems and a technical problem on our side which could appear under certain circumstances. We sincerely apologize for this problem and have immediately fixed it after we became aware of it. You will not receive any future mailings such as the one you received. We will also take measures to track down the person abusing our system. Best regards Christopher Reimold / element 5 AG
|
Proenski
Junior Member From: Registered: Feb 2003 Posts: 1
|
But still the trail goes directly to http://www.poikosoft.com/
|
JustinG
Junior Member From: Registered: Feb 2003 Posts: 1
|
This is without a doubt coming from Element5 and it is not the first time that they have done this. I received this message to a Disposable Email Address (http://www.spamex.com) that was only used to make my audiograbber purchase through Element5. They are the only one's who have this email address. I also received email from them in May of 2001 advertising their products and when I complained I was told that I must have 'Opted in' to receive their mailings when I purchased Audio-Grabber.I notified Jackie of this at the time but there did not seem to be much concers and element 5's excuse was accepted at face value. Oh well. Regards, Justin
|
Jackie
Administrator From:Moonbase Alpha Registered: Posts: 1735
|
Ok, someone with login codes for Poikosoft logged in to Element5's computer and somehow managed to change some parameters and that way was able to send out a newsletter to Audiograbber users. A bug in Element5's system but it has been fixed now so this will not happen again.The person from Poikosoft was never able to receive the e-mail addresses that this e-mail was sent to so it is not so much damage. That newsletter is not the same as I use myself, I use the one which you have to sign up for on my main page. (Hopefully no one will be able to hack his way into that one ) This matter is now settled and I have no hard feelings for Element5 which was very helpful and polite.
|
MarkVent
Junior Member From:London, United Kingdom Registered: Feb 2003 Posts: 2
|
Cool, all is well .. and a big thumbs up to element5 who had the (pardon my french) balls to come here and admit it was a technical problem on their side etc etc ..Now .. to download 1.82 .. WOOHOO!! Mark.
|