|
Author
|
Topic: You got SPAM from Easy CD-DA Extractor??? - (Read 37 times)
|
drdanny
Member From:Sunnyvale, CA, USA Registered: Dec 98 Posts: 41
|
Just this evening, I received some spam from which I'll copy below. You'll note it pretends to be related to AG. Ha! Am I the only one who got this? I've removed my email addy from this, and didn't include full headers, but I've saved it if anyone wants them. quote:
From: grab@el5.net To: drdanny@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Sender: newsletter-bounce-1989778-a8ac0bba6910e43c@nls.element5.com Subject: Audiograbber Newsletter!Dear customer, Easy CD-DA Extractor is now available for $19.95! Easy CD-DA Extractor is the ultimate solution for ripping audio CDs, converting audio files from one format to another, and creating Audio CDs. Easy CD-DA Extractor supports all popular formats include MP3, WMA, and Ogg Vorbis. See http://www.poikosoft.com/easycdda.html Thank you for being our customer. Jack
This mail has been sent by element 5 (http://www.element5.com) on behalf of Jukka Poikolainen Software (10441). If you do not wish to receive any additional newsletters from Jukka Poikolainen Software, please click on the following link to unsubscribe. http://esd.element5.com/u.html?p=10441&m=drdanny@xxxxxxxxxxxx&f=0&c=706138&l=1
|
JF
Junior Member From: Registered: Feb 2003 Posts: 1
|
I got one of these too. Kinda surprised me as well.
|
phlux
Junior Member From: Registered: Feb 2003 Posts: 1
|
I also got one of these. My first thought was "Oh, no! Jackie bailed and sold Audiograbber to evil people who send me spam!" I'm assuming that's not true, but... how *did* they get my email address and know that I'm an Audiograbber customer?
|
phil_ga
Member From:Sydney, NSW, Australia Registered: Jan 2002 Posts: 12
|
I got one as well. Really took the wind out of me. I suspect that element 5 (http://www.element5.com) could have a list of all AG customers somehow? Since they do seem to sell AG as well as CD-DA. Anyway - I was rather annoyed at this. Note, they even signed it "Jack"!!!Phil
|
KevinB52379
Member From: Registered: Jun 2001 Posts: 208
|
I have a feeling either element 5 had something to do with it or hackers got it. Jackie wouldn't betray anyone here, he's a good guy. CD-DA extractor used to be a great cd ripper, but now it's fallen behind the times..this is why we probably got the spam to help sales... anyway talk to you all later Kevin
|
jihiggs
Member From:sacramento, ca, usa Registered: Nov 2000 Posts: 155
|
i got that email too, i think element 5 is the company that handles the sales of audio grabber. that is really shitty that they would use that info to promote a competing software.
|
bugblatter
Junior Member From: Registered: Jun 2001 Posts: 3
|
Yep, got the same e-mail. Looks like a case for Jackie's lawyers.On the plus side it got me to visit here and find out that there's a new version
|
Jackie
Administrator From:Moonbase Alpha Registered: Posts: 1735
|
What the fuck has happened here? I just checked my e-mails and I got a lot of questions about this newsletter. First let me assure you that I am not involved in this newsletter and that I have not sold out in any way. I never will, period. Second let me tell you that Audiograbber 1.82 will be released tomorrow, Monday.I guess that this has been sent to Audiograbber customers who has signed up to receive Element5's software newsletter. The questions are now three: 1. Why is Jukka Poikolainen, who I have had a good relation with during the years, doing this? 2. Why is Element5, who I also have had a good relation with during many years, selling out my database of registered Audiograbber users? 3. What shall I do about this? I just don't get it. This SPAM e-mail was sent out early Sunday morning CET when it is impossible to get ahold of someone at Element5 and complain. It has a subject of "Audiograbber Newsletter!" when it has absolutely nothing to do with my program. And it names the sender as some "Jack" which is very similar to my name! I have never heard of any Jack working at Poikosoft/Easy CDDA Extractor. It is so strange and sad. I mean, I have been under pressure from various directions during the years I have been working with AG (since 1997). Michael Robertsson took my domain name (audiograbber.com), hackers has been attacking my program much more than they do with other programs (they even setup an identical copy of my site at audiograbber.da.ru and distributed the full Audiograbber version). Gracenote (CDDB) was not easy to deal with etc, etc. But why is Element5 doing something like this? They have been the sole reseller of Audiograbber all since the start and even though I have got questions from almost all similar software selling companies to sell Audiograbber I have refused and told them that it works good with Element5/ShareIt and I don't need more resellers. I also helped them with this promotion story on their site: http://www.shareit.com/success_story.html?sessionid=50551795 I FEEL BETRAYED! P.S. I can tell that Audiograbber 1.82 will have the genre box on the main window editable so you can easily enter your own ID3v2 genre.
|
moonroy
Administrator From:Sweden Registered: Jan 99 Posts: 2158
|
Grrrrrr.....This will probably be the end of Element5 and Audiograbber working together. I remember back when Jackie/AG began working with Share-It. They had this "Most selling program of the week" on their website. AG was the only program on this list for a couple of months, and then they quit that competition. I guess Element5 will lose much much money on doing this. ------------------ moonroy www.mp3.com/enuresis
|
stranger
Junior Member From:Oss, NL Registered: Nov 2002 Posts: 1
|
I have received the e-mail as well... Didn't trust it, checked out this site again... Keep up the good work, Jackie!
|
gojira
Junior Member From:NH,USA Registered: Feb 2003 Posts: 1
|
Yeah I was surprised by this message this morning. Audiograbber was one of the first shareware programs I gladly paid for and it has earned its keep over the years! I hope you get this resolved to your satisfaction Jackie!
|
schrikg
Member From:Netherlands ,The Registered: Dec 2000 Posts: 249
|
Well first Jackie has to find out if it is realy that company that send those emails.I can be everyone I want. I can change for example my account options in my email program that my reply adres for example "billgates@microsoft.com" is with the name "Bill Gates". Maybe it is a sick joke.Someone got an original newsletter from Audiograbber and from Poikosoft. Rebuild a little and got the email adresses from the AG forums. So maybe People should send those emails to Jackie so he can see what server these emails realy came from (IP numbers). That doesn't explain why "JF" & "phlux" also got these newsletters because I think they become member today of this board. Or am I wrong ?
|
MarkVent
Junior Member From:London, United Kingdom Registered: Feb 2003 Posts: 2
|
I also got this SPAM, and was not at all happy, I was certain that Jackie would never have sold his contact list or SPAM me .. and I decided to check out the website before firing off a flame and I'm glad I did ..I guess we will just have to wait and see what happens, but I suggest Jackie kicks-off with both of these guys ... (element5 and poikosoft) .. Mark.
|
moonroy
Administrator From:Sweden Registered: Jan 99 Posts: 2158
|
The mail was not sent to members of this board. All adresses here are safe in the forum.The mail were sent by Element5/Share-It to users who have bought the program during the last years. Somehow Element5 have either done a very bad thing by letting Poikosoft get the adresses, or Poikosoft has somehow stolen the adresses. Either way, this sure sucks. Jackie hates spam and would never do a thing like this. ------------------ moonroy www.mp3.com/enuresis
|
mork
Junior Member From:no, no, naw Registered: Feb 2003 Posts: 1
|
i got spammed at the address i used for purchasing audiograbber too. it's not even as good at ripping as the freeware program (EAC) that i use now even after paying for ag. any chance that the updated audiograbber will be as good as the freeware ripper EAC yet? i feel a little betrayed too...
|